Masters Teams compete in National Tournament January 2024

All six Nottinghamshire's Masters Teams competed in the annual Masters County Challenge Tournament over the weekend of 13/14th January 2024.

The format for this competition; Over 40s to over 60s play 1 x Men's, 1 x Ladies and 2 x Mixed rubbers. The over 65s play 1 x Men's, 1 x Ladies and 1 x Mixed rubbers.

Nott's performed well, with three team's finishing in 2nd place, one team 3rd, one team 4th and one team in 5th place overall.

Notable performances were from:-

Carl Jennings (50s 1st team) and Jacqui Burton, Eileen Clarke (65s team) - All unbeaten, playing in all matches for their respective teams.

Over 40s results: Division 1A – venue: Aldersley Leisure Centre, Wolverhampton.

Nott's	0	Cheshire	4
Nott's	1	Worcs.	3
Nott's	1	Leics.	3
Nott's	1	Oxfordshire	3
Nott's	3	Lincolnshire	1
Nott's	3	Yorkshire	1

Overall Final Position: 5th.

Team: Alan Scott (Captain) – Forest B.C.

Laura Birkinshaw, Andy Shaw – Mapperley Park B.C.

Kathryn Britton – Beeston Valley B.C.

Louise Bolam – Bingham B.C.

Emma Julian-Wood – Southwell B.C.

Steve Farey – Carlton B.C.

Dominic Hobdell – Beeston Fields B.C.

<u>Over 45s results</u>: Division 1A – venue: Aldersley Leisure Centre, Wolverhampton. Played each team twice.

Nott's	1	Lancs.	3
Nott's	0	Lancs.	4
Nott's	1	Cheshire	3
Nott's	1	Cheshire	3
Nott's	3	Bucks.	1
Nott's	3	Bucks.	1

Overall Final Position: 3rd.

Team: Simon Vanderwalt (Captain) – East Leake B.C.

Lee Truong, Sion Severn – Forest B.C.

Nathalie Woolsey-Butler – Crusader B.C.

Steph Clark, Helen Goff – Beeston Fields B.C.

Mathew Haigh, Con Truong – Mapperley Park B.C.

<u>Over 50s 1st results</u>: Premier Division – venue: University of Worcester Arena.

Nott's	1	Hampshire	3
Nott's	4	Surrey	0
Nott's	4	Kent	0
Nott's	4	West of Scotland	0
Nott's	3	Cambridgeshire	1
Nott's	4	Cheshire	0

Overall Final Position: 2nd.

Team: Carl Jennings (Captain), Loraine Buck – Forest B.C.

Paula Wilson, Jane Smith, Andy Cokayne, Matt Tongue – Bingham B.C.

Alan Bowmer - Mansfield Oaktree B.C.

Karen Gleave – Crusader B.C.

<u>Over 50s 2nd results</u>: Division 1A – venue: University of Worcester Arena (Saturday) and Perdiswell Leisure Centre (Sunday).

Played each team twice.

Nott's	2	Lincolnshire	2
Nott's	2	Lincolnshire	2
Nott's	0	Yorkshire	4
Nott's	0	Yorkshire	4
Nott's	1	Gloucestershire	3
Nott's	1	Gloucestershire	3
Nott's	1	Lancashire	3
Nott's	1	Lancashire	3

Overall Final Position: 4th.

Team: Sally Moore (Captain) – Crusader B.C.

Dave Barratt – Forest B.C.

Warwick Mooney, Graeme Wallace – Beeston Valley B.C.

Neil Franklin – Boots B.C.

Beverley Dolman – East Leake B.C

Julie Gater – Mansfield Oaktree B.C.

Lisa Straw – Mapperley Park B.C.

<u>Over 60s results</u>: Division 1A – venue: University of Worcester Arena (Saturday) and Perdiswell Leisure Centre (Sunday).

Played each team twice.

Nott's	4	Shropshire	0
Nott's	1	Shropshire	3
Nott's	1	Cheshire	3
Nott's	1	Cheshire	3
Nott's	4	Worcestershire	0
Nott's	4	Worcestershire	0

Overall Final Position: 2nd.

Team: Julie Peart (Captain), Lesley Griffin – Chilwell B.C.

Wendy Bland, Jerry Deacon – Crusader B.C.

Sindy Midha – Byron B.C.

Mark Attewell – Bingham B.C.

Anthony O'Leary – Forest B.C.

Adrian Mateo – East Leake B.C.

David Hall - Boots B.C.

<u>Over 65s results</u>: Division 1A – venue: Aldersley Leisure Centre, Wolverhampton. Played each team twice:-

Nott's	2	Lancashire 2 nd	1
Nott's	1	Lancashire 2 nd	2
Nott's	1	Worcestershire	2
Nott's	2	Worcestershire	1
Nott's	3	Shropshire	0
Nott's	3	Shropshire	0

Overall Final Position: 2nd.

Team: Jacqui Burton (Captain), Eileen Clarke, Gill Maloney – Chilwell B.C.

Ian Price, Mike Nettleton, Phil Johnson – Chilwell B.C.